User Management

    The Hudu admin area is accessible ONLY to admins and super admin users within your organization.

 
This article serves to help provide insight into effectively managing user (technician and end-user) accounts within your Hudu environment. User management within Hudu refers to the creation and maintenance of users, as well as the assignment of user abilities (via user roles) and the restrictions placed upon them (via security groups and password folders).
 
The three main types of users within Hudu would be:
 
  • Admin Users
    • Includes admin (and above) user roles; able to perform most abilities within Hudu and access admin area; cannot be added to security groups.
  • Technician Users
    • Includes spectator, author, and editor user roles; have varying levels of permissions due to user roles, and can be further restricted via security groups and password folders.
  • Portal Users
    • Have read-only access to a single client portal, and are at no extra cost. Portal users require unique login credentials and need to be assigned to a client space with an active external share portal.

 

Guides

User Roles

User roles within Hudu dictate the main abilities that a user will have within your Hudu environment. We have 6 different user roles with varying levels of documentation abilities. These include:
 
  • Portal user (free): Read-only access to a single client portal.
    • These users are not considered licensed users but do require unique login credentials.
    • Portal users need to be assigned to a client space with an active external share portal.
  • Spectator: Read-only access to your Hudu environment.
    • These users have read-only access to your actual Hudu environment, as opposed to only the external share portal.
    • Spectators can be granted read-only access to all of your spaces or restricted down via security groups.
  • Author: Gain access to writing and archiving.
    • These users gain the ability to write within your Hudu environment; as well as archive information to the museum.
    • Authors can be granted access to all of your spaces, or restricted via security groups.
  • Editor: Gain access to some documentation tools.
    • These users gain the ability to flag documentation and view expirations within Hudu.
    • Editors can be granted access to all of your spaces or restricted down via security groups.
  • Admin: Gain access to the admin tab.
    • These users gain the ability to access almost all areas of your Hudu environment; as well as gain the ability to delete information.
    • Admin users cannot be added to security groups.
  • Super admin: Have access to all features/areas.
    • These users have access to everything within your Hudu environment; as well as have the ability to export data out of your Hudu environment.
    • Super-admins cannot be added to security groups.
 

Creating Users

This section will walk you through creating a user within your Hudu environment. Creating users is limited to admin or super-admin roles ONLY.
 
  • Navigate to the Hudu admin area on your Hudu Toolbar.
  • Under the category 'Basic Setup,' click on the Users tab.
  • Click ((+ Invite New User)).
  • From here, type in the e-mail address(es) for the users you'd like to add. Click ((+ Add Emails when finished)).
    • Please note that you can add as many e-mail addresses as you'd like, separated by commas; but they will all need to be the same user role when added multiple users at the same time.

    Clicking + Add Emails does not create the user accounts; this will allow you to review the e-mails for the correctness and is required to click before Hudu will allow you to create the users.

  • Assign the user(s) a user role from the list.
  • Finish user setup:
    • For portal users, it is required to select a client [space] to tie the portal user to (i.e. which clients' portal will they have access to).
    • For spectators, authors, and editors; optionally assign them to a security group.
      • "Default" security groups can also be configured, so that all added users will automatically be placed into this security group by default (unless otherwise specified).
  • Click Create User(s).

 

Removing Users

This section will walk you through removing a user from your Hudu environment. Removing users is limited to admin or super-admin roles ONLY.
 
  • Navigate to the Hudu admin area on your Hudu Toolbar, and into the Users tab.
  • Find the user that you'd like to remove, and click Archive.
    • Alternatively, you can either click the user's name or click view profile to open up the user's details page.
    • From this window, click Archive user.
      • Users from Hudu are never deleted, only archived. This allows us to maintain the validity of your activity logs.
      • Archiving technicians and portal users work very similarly to deleting the user; they will lose access to all environments they previously had access to, and will not be able to regain access unless they are unarchived.

 

Tools

Security Groups
Security groups allow you to manage what information your Hudu users are allowed to view. You can restrict security groups from:
 
  • Viewing entire client spaces;
  • Outline when users in a group are allowed to be active in your environment (via Login Schedules);
  • and, set pretty much any other type of restriction that you'd like!
    • Restrictions can be set at either a category basis (i.e. restricting a security group from viewing entire asset layouts or features); and/or
    • they can be set at an individual level (i.e. restricting a security group from viewing an individual password, asset, or KB article).

    For additional information, visit our Groups/Restrictions article to learn more!

Password Folders
Password folders work in conjunction with security groups to not only help organize passwords for your technicians; but to also allow you to create folder restrictions, based on your already created security groups.
 
Passwords folders can be set to either:
 
  • Be accessible to all users
    • i.e. No restrictions set upon the actual password folder; the folder is accessible to all of your technicians.
    • Passwords stored within unrestricted folders can still be individually restricted from users within security groups.
  • Be accessible to selected users
    • i.e. Which security groups, in addition to admin and super-admins, would you like to be able to view the particular password folder.

    For additional information, visit our Password Folders article to learn more!

 

FAQ

How do I remove/delete users from my billing cycle?

Answer: Navigate to your Hudu HQ Billing Portal Dashboard. Select My Billing>Access Billing Portal>Update Plan to reduce or increase your license count. If you decrease your license count in Hudu HQ but do not archive the user, this will result in your Hudu environment going into Limited Mode for exceeding the available license count. By archiving the user, you are essentially deleting the user account; but by archiving, it allows us to maintain the validity of your activity/audit logs.

Unable to archive a user.

Answer: Likely the user was the first account created in the environment, so your Hudu account deems this as the "owner" account. To archive this user, you'll need to change their user role to something other than super admin; you should now be able to archive the user.

Notes: Once the original super admin account has been archived, the next created super admin will default to the "owner" account, and cannot be archived until the user role has been changed.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful